My Favorite Things (2014)

In just a few days, the world will be ringing in 2015! Hope you all had a wonderful holiday season.  The family and I were very fortunate to celebrate the season with family and friends. Here are some of the things the family and I enjoyed doing during the holidays.

Holiday Décor

Inspired by my friend Rose’s DIY holiday star craft project, the girls and I enjoyed this easy craft plus we got to put Lil’s rainbow loom bands to use.

image (248)

image (250)

image (249)

The Thought Counts

I love looking for personalized gifts for family and friends. It’s pretty fun putting it together.

For the candle and glass décor lover (for my aunt), I found this wonderful handmade glass plate and matched it up with this cute owl votive candleholder.

image (259)

For the writer in the family (my sister), who loves Hemingway and Paris. I found this cute tea packet from World Market.  Also, found the notebook and pen from Michael’s craft store.

image (260)

I grew up listening to the Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas music. I was so happy to receive this tiny Chipmunk book from Emma.

image (261)

Mail

I love receiving Christmas cards in the mail. Definitely, a breath of fresh air from the usual bills and junk mail.

image (257)

Christmas Feast

Holidays are all about food, and more food.  I’m not a big cook but I try to make an effort to make something. Here’s my annual holiday offering, mini empanaditas filled with pulled pork adobo.

image (252)

For Christmas Eve we had a giant Dungeness crab, Cajun seafood and garlic noodles.

image (253)

Pre-Christmas, a good friend Maryll and daughter came to visit and we had Filipino food and made crab wontons.

image (263)

Post-Christmas, more of our friends came to visit and this time we served Burmese chicken noodle soup dish and parathas.

image (254)

Christmas Breakfast

I love lazy mornings where we can all relax and I can prepare breakfast without looking at the clock. The girls love pancakes, so I decided to make these free form pancakes. Emmy loved her snowman but noticed I forgot to put buttons on his belly. Lil loves dogs and was delighted to see this pancake pup.

image (251)

Believe

I love seeing the wonder in kids eyes when you mention Santa Claus.  Emmy made sure to leave some cookies, milk and carrots for Santa and his reindeers.  She knows that Santa is make-believe.  Emmy, “Mommy, you know, Santa is real only if you believe he is.”

image (256)

image (266)

image (267)

Santa’s helper, the royal mutt stands guard next to wrapped chocolate truffles for my husband to give to his co-workers. Thankfully, I didn’t have to wrap them. I found these wrapped chocolate truffle boxes from World Market.

image (258)

Family Time

With our busy schedules, it’s fun to catch up with the kids and enjoy family time. Our leisurely afternoon stroll yesterday was so much fun and relaxing.

image (255)

image (268)

Creatures Big and Small

Our royal mutt, Bailey even reunited with his pal Pebbles.

image (265)

More than the food, the holiday shopping rush or gifts, what really counts the most to me is the joy of celebrating love and togetherness with family. Also, reconnecting with friends we rarely see.  Hope you all had a wonderful 2014. Here’s to looking forward to the New Year with bright eyes and hopeful hearts!

image (264)

 

Leave a Reply

