Record Nostalgia

I grew up listening to my father play and sing Frank Sinatra, The Beatles, Johnny Mathis, Nat King Cole songs and show tunes.  For awhile, I’ve been wanting to get myself a record player and finally got one a few months ago.  At that time, I only had a Beatles album.  I found a handful of old records at Half Price Books that cost 25 cents to $10 each.  Most of them are in good condition, play well, and just needed a little dusting.

The girls were especially intrigued by this “new” device that look oddly large and didn’t have touch buttons.  They were amazed and amused at how it worked.  The girls had fun taking turns putting the record on the player. Lil and Emmy loved turning on the dial and putting the needle on the record and seeing it spin and produce music. I love that I can enjoy an afternoon listening to old records with my girls and have them appreciate a variety of music both old and new.

Check out our mini collection of records!

SHOWTUNES (Under $5)

IMG_4120

IMG_4124

IMG_4126

IMG_4129

IMG_4143

JOHNNY MATHIS

IMG_4121

NAT KING COLE

IMG_4513

GLENN MILLER

IMG_4125

ELLA FITZGERALD

IMG_4132

THE BEATLES

IMG_4511

SOUNDTRACKS

The “Singing in the Rain” soundtrack is the most requested record by my two chikadees. They watched the movie and enjoyed both music and movie.

IMG_4519

They love Mary Poppins movie too. This record includes the music and a storybook. 🙂

IMG_4515

IMG_4529

The Rescuers record includes dialogue, music and storybook.

IMG_4524

IMG_4526

Growing up in the 80’s, I couldn’t resist buying a few of these popular movie soundtracks.

IMG_4520

IMG_4521

IMG_4523

Other classic movies we watched with my parents were “Gone With The Wind” and “King and I”.

IMG_4517

IMG_4522

IMG_4518

IMG_4516

CLASSICAL MUSIC

I love classical music and was delighted to find these wonderful box sets that not only included 10 records but also has an educational booklet. It cost only $4.99 each. Lil likes reading the booklet and learning more about classical music history especially since most of her piano pieces are from this era.

IMG_4146

IMG_4147

IMG_4145

IMG_4150

IMG_4151

IMG_4514

Also, found this old Johann Strauss record that had an old library check out card attached to it.

IMG_4130

IMG_4131

ROAD TRIP RECORDS

I remember my late father playing Chuck Mangione and Neil Diamond on the cassette player while driving to our summer beach destination. Playing these records, bring so many great childhood summer memories. 🙂 Thanks Papa for sharing your love for music and the simple pleasures in life. Here’s my Papa back when he was a radio announcer in the Philippines. Missing you 🙂

IMG_4532

IMG_4510

IMG_4512

IMG_4530

 

 

Leave a Reply

