Meet Hummer

Yesterday, I had the most amazing chance meeting with my elusive muse, the hummingbird. I love these birds! I love them so much that the girls and I have set up several hummingbird feeders at our patio. Once in awhile, we get a quick glimpse of this fleeting bird.

Lil knows how much I admire them. As a birthday gift, she gave me this wonderful drawing of her version of the hummingbird.

IMG_5373

Yesterday, I was walking past a Pier Imports store when I saw the most beautiful resemblance of a hummingbird on the sidewalk. At first, I thought it was an accessory that fell off their spring lawn decor but I took a closer look and was delighted to see it was a real hummingbird. I quietly knelt next to it for a good two or three minutes which was eternity compared to the split second sightings I’ve had in the past. I looked to see if it was hurt. I was also able to touch its beak and it didn’t even flinch and fly away. Sadly, I wasn’t able to capture that moment on camera. It turns out the little guy who I’ve fondly named, Hummer was just taking a breather from the warm weather.

I’m so glad I looked down on the sidewalk. If I hadn’t looked, I would’ve never seen the bird who was only about an inch and half long.  Luckily, I was able to take a few pictures and some video footage of our meeting because my cellphone ran out of memory space. I put a little video together below. Have a look! 🙂

IMG_6135

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. emmablanco says:

    What a great meeting. 🙂 I love hummingbirds too.

    1. cmbanerjee says:

      I know, right. It felt like it was kismet. 🙂

  2. coreymp says:

    Such a sweet video! What an adorable bird. Thanks for sharing. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

