Clouds

With Christmas fast approaching, it’s hard to think that we’ll be celebrating it without the man who loved this season the most, our dear Itay, our Papa (father). Its been over two months since my father passed away and the reality of it all is still sinking in. A song, a picture, or a place quickly sparks a memory with him and the waterworks follows.

This morning, I came across a short documentary about an amazingly brave young man who truly lived his life to his fullest. Meet, Zach Sobiech. At 14 years old, he was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, osteosarcoma. At 17 and with only a few months to live, Zach turned to music and recorded an inspiring and reassuring song called, “Clouds”. Seeing and hearing his story brought me to tears, not so much of sadness but tears of joy for the happiness Zach brought to all around him. It reminded me of the same joys and happy moments I was lucky enough to enjoy with my father that would be infinitely remembered and cherished. Hey Zach, say hi and embrace my Itay for me up there in the clouds! I’m sure my dad would love to sing your song with you, he sure can sing. 🙂

Nov11toThanksgiving2007 093
Papa at San Francisco Union Square

Zach said, “You don’t have to find out you’re dying to start living.” So true. How would you like to be remembered? Zach answered, “I want to be remembered as the kid who went down fighting and didn’t really lose.” Truly inspiring!

ZachVictory

I’d like to dedicate Zach’s song “Clouds”, to anyone that may have lost a loved one or missing someone miles away. Let’s embrace life, and start living!

Leave a Reply

