Lola Nena’s Garden

My sister and I spent July 4th weekend visiting my mother’s side of the family in Montreal. It was a much needed break and a wonderful time to see family I haven’t seen in over ten years. Plus, my sister and I were traveling together for the first time without the kids and husbands. (Freedom!) The highlight of the trip for me was not the sightseeing or shopping or dining out but being able to stay and hang out with our grandmother.  She’s 86 years old and the only surviving grandparent! I know it may not sound so cool but hanging out with our Lola (Filipino word for grandma) till 2 a.m. in the morning each day was priceless.

Our conversations were filled with laughter and topics varied from family life, art, history, food and skincare. I wish I could look as good as she does when I get to be her age.

Here are some pictures I took of the flowers in their garden. They all depict my Lola Nena’s vibrant, beautiful and refreshing energy. She inspires me. 🙂

Lola Nena on the right with one of her long time friends.
Lola Nena on the right with one of her long time friends.

IMG_4083

IMG_4085

IMG_4086

IMG_4087

IMG_4088IMG_4089

IMG_4090

IMG_4093

One Comment Add yours

  1. coreymp says:

    One of the best times ever. Loved every minute we spent with Lola Nena. 🙂

Leave a Reply

