Dollar Days

A few weeks ago, I was browsing through the clearance children’s section at Half Price Books (our Barnes and Noble and Borders have both closed down a year ago) and was delighted to find, “Make Way for Ducklings.” I first heard of the book through Amelie’s Bookshelf where I find a lot of great book recommendations for children. My pocket was equally delighted when I saw this lightly used book was only $1.00. Lil and Emmy loved the endearing story of a mallard duck family starting a new life in a Boston riverbank. They also loved the illustrations.

IMG_3755

Also for $1 was this wonderfully illustrated, The Pout-Pout Fish. Cute story of a sad fish in search of his purpose.

IMG_3715

IMG_3716

Emmy has been obsessed with tooth fairy books ever since she read “Franklin and the Tooth Fairy”. I found this humorous book, “The Tooth Fairy Tell All”. The book walks the reader through what baby teeth are, to maintenance, what every tooth’s job is and what types of food are good for your teeth.

IMG_3717

IMG_3720

Finally, I found this heartwarming story of a sheep named, Russell who finds a lost treasure and discovers a greater treasure in the end. The girls loved the story and illustrations.

IMG_3721

Quick book reading update, I finally finished reading novel, Moloka’i by Alan Brennert which was a compelling, highly imaginative and moving story. Definitely a must read for historical novel readers.

Right now, I’m in the mood to read some Tolstoy, Bradbury and Bronte. Well as soon as this guy’s makes them available to me. 🙂

IMG_3754

5 Comments Add yours

  1. nikita2471 says:

    Grrrr, did you read Girl with the Dragon Tattoo yet??

    1. cmbanerjee says:

      and that too, soon. 🙂 right now in the mood for some classic reading

  2. coreymp says:

    Love your blog! What a great post. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. coreymp says:

    Reblogged this on corey m. p. and commented:
    I love my sister’s blog. I just had to share…

  4. Malou says:

    Beautiful post! Children exposed to books carry that habit with them. My little girl loves books but the hardbound illustrated ones can be very pricey. Good that we have libraries here where we can borrow children books for a good amount of time too. 😉

Leave a Reply

