The Little Prince turns 70!

I was thirteen when I first came across the Little Prince book by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. I found it in my parents small library of books. I remember picking out several books, among them were Shakespeare, Cyrano de Bergerac, and The Prophet but the illustration of an innocent young prince on the front cover caught my eye and his seemingly proud stance intrigued me. It’s amazing how it was published in 1943 and to this day is still revered as one of the best literary classics.

Years later, I still consider it to be my favorite book. The part of the story that had a lasting impression on me was when the Little Prince befriended the fox. I’ll never forget the secret the fox shared with the little prince, “It is only with the heart that one can see clearly. What is essential is invisible to the eye.”

Here are some of the Little Prince books I’ve collected through the years plus my parents’ Little Prince book that I plan to keep for posterity.

The book was given to my parents by a close family friend. This edition was not sold in the United States. Looks like one of us found it as toddlers and doodled on it.

IMG_3514

IMG_3515

Here’s one, my sister bought for me from the only English bookstore in Paris, Shakespeare and Company. I’ll have to remember to ask her to buy a French version of it next time she visits France.

IMG_3512

IMG_3519

Here’s a pop-up book version of The Little Prince. Lil has started reading this version and enjoys the text and pop-up artwork.

IMG_3523

IMG_3527

IMG_3530

IMG_3525

Here’s a board game and activity book

IMG_3536

IMG_3540

IMG_3538

I found this version at SF’s Dog Eared Books.  The front cover got crumpled. 😦 How? I’ll have to ask the kiddies or more likely little kiddie. 🙂

IMG_3522

I leave you with a scene from the Little Prince movie with Gene Wilder. Happy 70th Birthday Little Prince!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. coreymp says:

    I LOVE this post!!! The Little Prince is such special book. I have precious memories attached to it. It will always be one of my favorite books.

    1. cmbanerjee says:

      Thanks Corey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

