Mommy Author Interview and GIVEAWAY! (Giveaway now closed)

Welcome Corey M.P., author of HIGH. I’m excited to host my second book blog tour and first giveaway!

HIGHblogtourlogo2

1. Tell us about yourself.
I’m a writer and a graphic designer from California. Aside from writing contemporary fiction, I also recently created a collection of beginner books for kids under the age of five called, Sammy’s Books. I live with my husband, my three-year-old daughter, and our two corgis in the City by the Bay. HIGH is my first novel. I am currently working on my second novel, Hearts and Errors. I also blog at: coreymp.wordpress.com.

2. What genre is your book?
Contemporary Fiction.

3. Who is your target audience?
My target audience would be anyone who enjoys a good love story and a nice cup of coffee.

4. What inspired you to write your novel?
I used to work as a fulltime graphic designer. During a hectic week, I had a chance to step outside for a quick coffee break. It was then I realized I was burnt out, and at that particular moment, I had the urge to escape. And that feeling of wanting to escape inspired me to write HIGH.

5. How did you come up with the plot?
The plot came together as soon as I started writing HIGH.

6. How did you come up with the names of your characters?
This may sound strange, but I remember watching a movie when I was little where someone was named, Sonja (it was probably spelled differently). Oddly enough, I don’t remember the movie or the actress. I just remember liking the name because it was unique. I forgot about it until I began writing HIGH. When it was time to name my protagonist, it was easy. Sonja was it.

7. How did you decide where the story would take place?
Pretty simple. I love Montreal. I fell in love with Montreal when I first visited it when I was nineteen. I know a lot of people have heard of the city, but not a lot have seen it or experienced it. There are so many elements about Montreal that can make you fall in love. It just felt right to use it for HIGH.

8. Who is your favorite character in the book? Why?
I’d have to say, Sonja Fines. She shows us her vulnerability in a way that we can all relate. Pulling yourself away from a difficult situation is hard to do. She shows us weakness and strength all at the same time. I believe we all have a little bit of her in us. I’ve heard some of my readers say, “I’m having a Sonja Fines moment.” I immediately know what they mean.

9. What part of the book was the hardest for you to write? Why?
Hmmm. I’d say the ending, only because I wrote three different versions. It was a process. The first two simply didn’t satisfy me, but the last one absolutely did. In a way, I think I had to write the first two to get the final one.

10. What part of the book was the easiest to write? Why?
The dialogues. I like hearing and feeling what my characters are saying. I enjoy writing dialogues because they paint a different picture for the readers. Descriptions of places and things are wonderful, but dialogues paint a different picture. It goes inside a characters mind, heart, and soul. It involves the reader more into the story, and I think that’s important.

11. Do you have a favorite line from your book? If so, which one?
I have a few, but one of them is: “Your life is where you are now.  It’s anywhere you go and anywhere you take it.”

12. What inspires you to write?
Everything. A song, a picture, a dream, a face—everything inspires me.

 13. You also, recently published a children’s book, “Goodnight World”. What did you enjoy most about writing a children’s book?
I enjoyed coming up with the concept, designing it, writing it, and staying up until 2 a.m. almost every day doing my illustrations. I enjoyed every bit of it because I was doing it for my three-year-old daughter who I adore and love so much. It was because of her that I was able to create Sammy’s Books and finish our first book, Goodnight World.

 14. As a mom, how do you balance the tasks of motherhood and writing?
I’m a mom and a wife first. Family is very important to me. I’ve managed to balance writing and my family by staying up late at night when everyone’s asleep, and that’s when I write. Sometimes, early mornings help too.

15. What are you working on now?
I’m working on another novel called, Hearts and Errors.

16. When can we expect your next book?
June 2013.

17. Tell us where we can buy your book. 
HIGH is available on amazon.com in both eBook and paperback. The paperback is also available on barnesandnoble.com.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000031_00001]

About HIGH:
Sonja Fines is a thirty-year-old, uptight, sleep deprived, workaholic from Manhattan who hasn’t taken a day off in years. On a Friday before a Fourth of July weekend, she hops in a cab, late for an important presentation, but ends up in a coffee shop…in Montreal. Shocked by her sudden escape, she meets laid-back Chad Miller. They spend the next three days together, and quickly fall for each other. Sonja has never been happier. But when Chad suddenly reveals something from his past, Sonja flees in a hurry—and her life turns upside down. Overwhelmed with emotions, she embarks on a roller coaster of spontaneous decisions that change her life dramatically.

Print

Answer the question below for your chance to win a FREE SIGNED COPY OF HIGH!

If you could go anywhere right now and escape the norm, where would you go, and why?

The Challenge: Answer the question in ONE sentence. Be creative!

Please leave a comment and an email address. We will announce the winner on Saturday, February 9, 2013. Good luck!

You must be at least 18 years old to join. Open to US residents only.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara Flower says:

    Right now I feel like exploring the vast shores of Canada’s east coast, because it would really clear my head and I am so ready to leave my home city.

    1. coreymp says:

      Sounds lovely, Sara. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

  2. I enjoyed this interview, and nodded my head a lot with the author’s answers. I have just published my first romantic suspense, and love the way Corey M.P. got her character’s name, decided on her setting, and wrote three endings. Nice interview.
    Challenge question: I love being wherever I am, because I live within myself, and there, the norm is always different and exciting.

    1. coreymp says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. 🙂
      Your answer to the challenge question is quite unique, and very true. Thanks for the comment!

  3. lynxchild says:

    I really want to go to a cabin somewhere in the picturesque wilderness and “unplug” from the internet for a few days. Get some writing done without distractions.

    1. coreymp says:

      I think if I “unplugged” myself from the internet and other distractions, I would probably daydream more, write more, and achieve more in writing. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

  4. I would go to the north side of the Black Rock on the west coast of Maui and watch the sea turtles come into the cliff to feed.

    1. coreymp says:

      That sounds amazing. I can actually imagine it. Thanks for the comment, Dennis!

  5. cmbanerjee says:

    Thank you to everyone who participated! Also, want to thank Corey M.P. for giving me the opportunity to host HIGH’s book blog tour! Don’t forget to visit http://coreymp.wordpress.com for book updates.

Leave a Reply

