My Favorite Things

Happy Year of the Dragon! Welcome 2012!

The Christmas holiday was filled with good company, a table spread overflowing with both traditional and new appetizing dishes and gift giving. The kiddies definitely felt the love with their bag full of toys, books and clothing. Feel truly blessed!

Lil’ and I are working on donating some of her books and toys. Need to make room for their new stuff.

Speaking of Lil’, my dear 8-year-old gave me the sweetest gift ever. A coffee mug that illustrated my sentiments perfectly.

For Christmas Day lunch, I decided to go with my sweet tooth and baked a traditional Filipino cassava cake (yucca root). It was my first time making it and was happy to see everyone enjoyed it for dessert.

I also made bite size empanaditas with yummy ground beef, carrots and potato filling. Tedious work but so worth it when you see them devoured by hungry guests.

Lastly, my sister’s mother-in-law made this favorite Filipino noodle dish called pancit palabok. I must’ve had three servings. Yummy! A full belly and a much enjoyed celebration with the family. Now that’s a good way to end the year! I can’t complain :))))

5 Comments Add yours

  1. You have named 3 foods that I am in love with. Now i wish i had some cassava cake, Could you be kind enough to share the recipe?

    1. cmbanerjee says:

      My cassava cake recipe came from a cool Filipino cooking site complete with hands-on video tutorial. Check out “panlasang pinoy” site. I revised the recipe a bit, theirs called for half a can of condensed milk. I used one whole can. Although, if you lean towards the not-so-sweet side or have diabetics in the family. Half a can works. Hope this helps! Let me know how yours turn out šŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting! Happy New Year!

  2. trialsinfood says:

    sounds like you had a wonderful holiday!

    1. cmbanerjee says:

      Yes:) BTW, I like your New Year’s Eve spread. Its inspired me to do another toast to the new year with your lychee martini! Thanks for visiting! Happy 2012!

  3. coreymp says:

    Just want you to know I enjoy your blog and I just nominated you for a Sunshine Award! Congratulations!

    http://coreymp.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

