Comfort Food

Cooking is not my best trait. The last few weeks, I was pretty much getting tired of my redundant dishes and I’m sure the family was too. I was in need of culinary inspiration.

Saturday afternoon, Lil and I decided to go out and spend quality time. On the way, I decided to make a trip to my favorite Asian grocery store. It had been months since my last visit.

First stop, was the Filipino aisle where I grabbed sweets and other condiments that all quickly brought me back home. I even bought a claypot and cooked a Vietnamese catfish dish our friend Victor shared with me. I wasn’t able to take a picture 😦 It was quickly consumed. I will have to cook it again and make sure to take a picture next time around.

I’m a chocoholic and although Filipino chocolate is not as sweet as say the Hershey brand, Flat Tops milk chocolate is my favorite. I remember my Lolo Juan visit us and present them in his hat, as we greeted him at the door.

When I think of Filipino comfort food, the following come to mind: arroz caldo (rice porridge with chicken), sinigang (tamarind broth soup), nilaga (beef stew), tinola (chicken soup). My belly was craving sinigang na bangus (tamarind broth soup with milk fish). So I bought this Sinigang mix with Miso. I thought it was cool to see instructions in Tagalog in the back of the packet. I usually see them all printed in English.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was also inspired to revisit a dish called, “Bicol Express”, a delicious traditional Bicolano style stew dish that consists of pork, shrimp paste, chilies and coconut milk. I bought some shrimp paste and can’t wait to cook it!

After putting away everything in the pantry and fridge, I was ready for a snack. I decided to fry some saba (plantains). Again, brings back fond childhood summer memories. The sweet smell of fried bananas and butter. Simple and yummy!

I can’t wait to explore new dishes! Tonight, I’m cooking a burmese dish Khow Suey I learned from my mother-in-law. It’s a yummy concoction of noodles, spiced chicken, chana dal topped with boiled eggs, fried onions and drizzled with lime juice. Happy cooking!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tee Lian says:

    That looks so delicious and just perfect for rainy days
    and Fall.
    Cooking is a very interesting activity that gets to be routine
    if viewed as a chore in regular day to day food preparation
    in family settings or single life.
    But with health and wellness as a top priority home cooking
    becomes a new adventure for families and a bonding activity.

    I am all set to have a taste of that comfort food.

    Keep cooking….

    Tee Lian

    1. cmbanerjee says:

      Thanks Nikita and Tee Lian!

Leave a Reply

