Pinoy Food

Did you ever have that nagging food craving? Like hmmm, I could really eat a good burrito right now or I want Boiling Crab’s hot cajun shrimp and Alaskan king crab legs. Well, that was me a few days ago. I was craving some Pinoy food (another way of saying Filipino food). I was particularly interested in getting some sort of  silog.

What’s that? The silog word is a combination of two other filipino words. The  “s” comes from the word “sinangag” which refers garlic rice,  and “ilog” comes from word “itlog” which refers to egg.  It’s basically a rice plate that always come with two eggs (cooked hard over easy) and accompanied by a main entree. This rice plate is commonly served in the morning. Yes, we have hearty breakfasts. But really, the meal can be eaten and ordered any time of the day.

Here are some popular examples:

Tapsilog- dried/cured beef with garlic rice and eggs

Longsilog– longganisa (sausage) with garlic rice and eggs

Tocilog- tocino (sweet pork meat) with garlic rice and eggs

Bangsilog– bangus (seasoned fried milk fish) garlic rice and eggs

Going back to my craving, the girls and I joined my friend Rose for lunch at a Filipino restaurant she recommended. I was surprised to see each rice plate cost $7.95-$9. They usually cost $5-$6 in San Francisco. When the server finally came to our table, I was delighted to see a generous portion of food. We had so much, I had left over for dinner. Mmmm, good!

I ordered Adobosilog (chicken marinated in garlic, vinegar, soy sauce simmered dish) with Calamansi drink (Philippine version of lemonade)
The adobosilog was deeelicious worth every penny
Lil' wanted to try the longsilog. She enjoyed both her plate and had some of my adobo.
One Comment Add yours

  1. nikita says:

    Whoa, the price! But like you said, they definitely gave you big portions! GAH, you got a delicious plate!!! Definitely have to check that place out on my next visit!

Leave a Reply

