What’s For Dinner

I’m not sure if I can call myself a foodie but one thing’s for sure I love food! I appreciate gourmet, fine dining, rustic, country and international cuisine.  My husband and I love to watch Top Chef, Chopped and other shows on the Cooking Channel.  When it comes to cooking in my kitchen I lack Giada de Laurentiis or the Barefoot Contessa’s calm and poised presence instead I cook with a Julia Child attitude.  I’m not the best cook and happy to announce neither the worst.  And for those of  you who can relate to this, I have a simple recipe that is sure to satisfy your families’ hungry bellies without wiping off a single bead of sweat off your brow.

Yesterday as Emmy and I strolled under the California sun and breeze, I was quickly brought back to our recent vacation to Kauai and my belly began to crave Kalua Pork. It’s a traditional dish usually served at Hawaiian luau feasts. The real deal is cooked for hours underground. No worries. No shovels or digging needed. All you need is a slow cooker.

What you need:

2 lb. Boneless pork shoulder or butt (I bought the pot roast packaged pork shoulder)

1 tablespoon of sea salt (Original online recipe called for 1 tablespoon, I thought it was too salty)

1 tablespoon of liquid smoke

1 head of cabbage

Pierce pork with fork, 2 inch increments and rub liquid smoke and sea salt.  Place in slow cooker and set to low, cook for 8-10 hours.  I cooked it for 8 hours (my rice cooker had a built in slow cook feature).  Check pork after 8 hours with a fork.  Place pork in bowl and shred pork ( I used two forks). It was so tender, meat came apart easily.  Leave pork’s natural juices in slow cooker. Chop up cabbage into strips and pour into slow cooker.  Add shredded pork on top and cook for another 45 minutes to an hour. Serve with warm hot rice and a juicy slice of watermelon or fruit you like. If you feel like having a simple rustic dish, this one’s a winner you can add to your recipe book. Happy Eating!

Pork and natural juices in slow cooker after 8 hours
Shredded Pork

As hawaiian's say "It was Ono-licious!"

3 Comments Add yours

  1. coreymp says:

    Yummy! I can’t wait to try the recipe, but first I need to buy a slow cooker. Thanks for the tip. Keep them coming. I could use easy, but delicious recipes. 🙂

  2. nikita2471 says:

    Oooooo, that looks so good!!! Wish I could eat it right now!!!

  3. Pingback: Maui Daydream |

Leave a Reply

